“God is in this Old Chicago tonight”

I may have had the strangest experience ever with my coworkers this evening. I truly mean strange. Here’s how it went down.

Conversation begins lightly. Talk about children and how some are obnoxious and sometimes they bite me. (see we work at a daycare so this is not weird although it seems super weird.)

Then we talk about pizza.  I like pepperoni some people like cheese.  Apparently people who like cheese only cannot just take the pepperoni off.  I don’t understand.  Nonetheless we came to the conclusion to get a pepperoni and a cheese.

The topic moves from pizza to, let’s call it ‘intercourse’ for the sake of being classy.  Then somehow the conversation takes a drastic turn and goes here….

‘Do you believe in spirits?’ WHAT? Sex spirits? Alcoholic spirits? Where did this come from? From this discussion of otherworldly beings comes God. Which is what I do on a daily basis in my classes, talk about God.

I didn’t want to be ‘that’ person. You know  the “in my studies at my liberal arts university for my bachelor 0f arts in Christian ministry” person. So I remained a passive observer.

I became aware of what terrible connotations Christian has with it.  And how no one wants to be called a ‘Christian’ because of it.  They talked about saying they’re a follower or a believer before saying they’re a Christian.  How did we get to this point where we avoid even being associated with the word Christian as believers in Christ? Something is wrong here. And this bothers me.

That’s all I really have to say tonight. Pizza brings out serious topics with daycare workers I guess.

One comment on ““God is in this Old Chicago tonight”

  1. Woman says:

    Mmmmm…. pizza.

    I never thought about it before, but you are right. It almost in today’s modern world, it seems people saying they are Christian makes them almost dirty. I wonder when and how this happened.

Leave a Reply

