Fine. I Admit It. I Have A Problem

It started simple enough, my junior year of college. Early morning classes brought about a need for caffeine so as to not pass out (As in fall asleep, not faint. Although I would not want to faint either) in class. If I passed out I would have hit my head on the table and probably bled. I did not want to be known as “falls asleep in class and splits her head open” girl. So I needed something to keep me awake. Pop/soda/coke (whatever you call it in your neck of the woods) did not seem to be a responsible choice for an adult to make. Energy drinks always made me fearful that my heart would just stop working. So I did the natural thing. I brewed myself a cup of coffee.

I would not recommend a coffee newbie that they start with a cup of black coffee, but that’s what I did and that first taste was absolutely terrible. So I did what any logical person would do. I added approximately 57 packets of splenda and 3 cups of creamer. And after I nearly choked to death, I decided that maybe there was something better out there than plain black Folgers from a can.

So I ventured to the massive coffee aisle at my local Price Chopper and do you know what? They make flavored coffees. They have so many flavors. Mocha, hazelnut, caramel, butter toffee, vanilla, pumpkin and even strawberry! They have strawberry coffee! My horizons expanded vastly that day. I had so many options for my morning coffee. Of course I was still adding those 57 splenda packets but I did cut back on the creamer a skosh, what with the flavor infused coffee beans and all.

Then something terrible happened. I had a cup of Starbucks coffee. It danced on my taste buds. It was like the angels came down and brewed that cup just for me. I don’t care who you are, they make a delicious coffee bean. Immediately I abandoned my nasty old Folgers and began spending small fortunes on tiny bags of over-priced coffee. They must put crack in that stuff, because I just kept buying it. At this point in my life, I was still a casual coffee drinker. A cup on an early morning, but that’s it. I didn’t have to have coffee in order to function. That is until my good pal Keurig came into my life.

I was gifted a Keurig coffee maker for Christmas 2 years ago. This was the worst gift I could have ever gotten. It has ruined me. They have all the delightful flavors of coffee in handy little cups! All I have to do is just place it in and I can have coffee at any desired moment. No more of that pesky scooping and using filters. It was a sinch! I didn’t even spill coffee grounds everywhere anymore. It’s probably the best invention ever. But because it was so easy I could just stick a k-cup in, brew some coffee and be on my way. It took no time at all, so I made a cup every morning, just because I could. This should have been the first sign of what was soon to come.

Because now…now it’s a full-blown problem. I cannot physically function without a cup of coffee in the morning. And I get that darn 2:30 feeling if I don’t have anohter around 1:00. And sometime I have an after dinner cup of coffee. like some sort of middle-aged woman.

I’m out of control. I have so much caffeine running through my system that I’m pretty sure I drive those around me insane and sometimes I even annoy myself. This a problem. I went from the girl who had never had a cup of coffee and couldn’t stand the taste, to the girl who gets the shakes if she doesn’t have one.

I”m ready to admit that I have a problem. I’m fully addicted to coffee. Is there some sort of support group for people like me? Coffee Addicts Annonymous? The CAA? It has to be a thing right? Because I think I need to go.

Welp, look at the time! I’ll see you guys later, it’s time for my evening cup of coconut mocha. Tastes just like an almond joy!

 

 

8 comments on “Fine. I Admit It. I Have A Problem

  1. Rosey says:

    I work at Starbucks and didn’t like coffee until I worked there. Now I can drink my coffee without as much cream and sugar. By the way, there are now Starbucks k-cups. 🙂

  2. Bird says:

    I’d be in the same coffee addicts anonymous meeting..I love coffee!

  3. RedheadCarol says:

    I’m Brazilian so I grew up loving coffee. We don’t have Starbucks there, but we do have excellent coffees. But yeah, I can’t function with my daily dose of caffeine, be it Brazilian coffee, Starbucks, or Keurig.

  4. LWSpotts says:

    Coffee is a staple in our house.

  5. Oregano says:

    Another excellent post. I have a sweet tooth, so I cannot bring myself to drink any kind of coffee, unless it is un-recognizable or it tastes like a candy bar.

    However, I do have a bit of a caffeine problem. I need a couple of cans of soda or a couple bottles of iced tea in order to function properly. I have tried to wean myself off, and it is possible to do, as long as you have the time to take many naps every day for about a week!

  6. Terribly Sorry says:

    I’m a little young (according to my parents) to be dependent just yet, but I love it all the same!

Leave a Reply

