Sid, Are You a Child?

Dearest Sidney Franklin (I made this middle name up) Crosby,

You know I love you and your super incredible hockey abilities (Oh and I can’t forget your lusciously large lips. Did you have work done on them? They are HUGE!) I however, have one simple question for you.

Are you 3?

You see, I’ve chosen you and your Penguins as my eastern conference team to root for in the NHL playoffs, so I’ve been intently watching your first round series versus the Philadelphia Flyers. Since the first game you guys have been very angry towards each other. There have been many brawls and lots and lots of penalties on the parts of both teams. This, I understand, is hockey so it’s okay with me, but let’s talk about Sunday.

Sunday, you seemed to have boiled over in your frustrations and anger. There were wrestling matches, hair pulling, cheap shots and I’m sure many, many adult-type words. Which, you know, whatev, hockey.

Classic hockey fight!

Side note: I teach 3 year olds for a living and the little delightful guys do things like that all the time, minus the adult-type words. (ok, sometimes even that part takes place.)

So allow me to take this moment to tell you a story: Today, one child we’ll call him Frank, wasn’t using crayons. He wasn’t even near them. Then he saw another child, we’ll call her Tina, reach for the crayons, so Frank pushed the crayons to the other side of the table just out of Tina’s reach.

That story sounds pretty familiar doesn’t it? Seems very similar to something that recently happened with you right? Remember when you made the really mature decision to push away someone’s (Jakub Voracek’s to be precise) glove as he bent down to pick it up. Right as he bent down you just stuck your stick out and shoved that glove right away from his reach. Do you recall doing this? It’s not a very mature thing to do Sid ol’ pal.

And after you acted like a 3-year-old in tossing a glove away, you also decided to get in a fight with Claude Giroux and then you said some more adult words. Now normally I wouldn’t care that much about your actions, but the way you responded when questioned about these incidents makes me truly wonder if you are actually a child that has been given hormones to grow a nasty mustache tricking all of us into thinking you’re an adult.

You see, after the game the interviewers asked you why you pushed poor, poor, Jakub’s glove across the ice and you said,

I don’t like any guy on their team there. It was near me and he went to pick it up and I pushed it.”

First of all this did not answer their question at all. You basically just restated the question, but in essence what you said was,

I’m a child. I was losing in a hockey game. I wanted to make him mad. I saw his glove so I pushed it. Again, let the record show, I am a child and that is why I acted like a child.

So because you were so ridiculously ambiguous in your response the interviewers, they tried to understand your feelings more by asking for clarification as to why you don’t like the Flyers. And of course you were an open book and said,

“I don’t like them because I don’t like any guy on their team.”

Way to be super informative there, buddy! Now everyone is fully understanding why you don’t like those darn Flyers! You don’t like them because you don’t like them. Now I get it! (No I don’t.) Again, you’re acting like the 3 year olds I work with, “Why’d you hit them?” “Because they’re not my friend.” “Why?” “Because.” I have discussion like this on a daily basis. But they are 3 so it’s sort of excused from them as they can’t fully verbalize their feelings. But you are a grown man (I think).

After this you seemed to become slightly defensive about your motives for not liking the Flyers and you said,

“Yea, guys are emotional and there is a lot of stuff going on out there. There is no reason to explain. I don’t have to sit here and explain why I pushed a glove away they are doing a lot of things out there too. You know what, we don’t like each other. Was I going to sit there and pick up his glove? What was I supposed to do?”

Well Sid, you didn’t have to pick the glove up, that is true. But maybe, just maybe, you shouldn’t have pushed the glove away from him? I don’t know, that seems like the type of mature decision a 25-year-old man should make, but you didn’t do that. You did not. But I’m not the first person to suggest this concept to you. The interviewers even offered this thought and you said, as you are super mature,

“Skate away? Oh well I didn’t that time.

No, no you didn’t Sid. You did not skate away. You made the choice to be a child instead of a man.

Essentially what I heard in this interview was,

“AAAACK!! My Penguins are losing in this series! I’m so mad!! I needed to act out my frustrations so I pushed that punks glove away from him to make him mad. Okay? So what? Do you want to fight about it? Because I will fight you. I fought Giroux and I’ll take you down too! I’m not scared! I’m Sid the Kid!”

But don’t worry Sid. I still love you, I do. And I still want you to win this series because I really just don’t like those Flyers either. So I can relate to you on that. But I’m gonna need you to stop being childish and start playing hockey.

Your last chance for Stanley Cup-dom is tomorrow. If you do not win, you’re done. So maybe, here’s an idea, maybe you should just not fight with anyone tomorrow, ya? Maybe just try to score and win the game? Okay? Ya? Let’s do that.

Oh, and maybe next time make up a reason for not liking the Flyers, like “I don’t like them because they push me and they have stinky feet.” Anything really, just don’t say, “I don’t like them because I don’t like them.” again. That’s a stupid reason.

Okay, well I’m glad we had this heart to heart. Again, don’t worry. I still love you and your super plump lips.

All my love,
Amanda

P.S. The Flyers made this shirt to give away. So I guess the feeling is mutual?

Leave a Reply

